Anthopology Graduate Student Association

Anthropology Graduate Student Association (AGSA) consists of any and all members of the University of Kentucky who are currently enrolled in the Department of Anthropology's graduate program and are interested in its affairs and the quality of life of its graduate students.

Broadly, AGSA addresses concerns regarding the future of the graduate program in the Department of Anthropology. More specifically, the concerns of teaching assistants in the Department of Anthropology are addressed, students interested in careers in Anthropology are helped to gain access to relevant information, the association generates and manages funds, and helps to unify students taking courses in the Anthropology graduate program and reduces competition and stress between them.

The Anthropology Graduate Student Association (AGSA) has created a guide to introduce you to the Department of Anthropology, the University of Kentucky, and the graduate school in general. This guide serves as a companion to the comprehensive overview of relevant policies and procedures of the department for your graduate program of the department provided to you by the Director of Graduate Studies. For further assistance, please visit the Department’s website at: or the Graduate School’s website at Please remember that decisions concerning your academic career in the Department of Anthropology at the University of Kentucky should rely on recommendations from your advisor and doctoral or thesis committee. This is a guide from fellow graduate students, and does not represent Departmental policy or expectations. This guide was last updated by the AGSA Officers for 2016-2017 in May 2016. The current version supersedes any previous versions. 

AGSA is responsible for a number of events and fundraisers throughout the year, including a Distinguished Lecturer Series, new anthropology graduate student orientation, a department picnic, a Halloween party, bake sales, and a variety of other events and workshops to benefit Department of Anthropology graduate students.

Executive Board 2016-2017
President: Chelsea Cutright
Vice-President: Ruth Dike
Secretary: Vanessa Hanvey
Treasurer: Ashley Whitten
Distinguished Lecture Series Chair: Lesly-Marie Buer
Enter your link blue username.
Enter your link blue password.
Secure Login

This login is SSL protected