Franklin County

Types of Farms in Franklin County

Franklin County, home of Kentucky’s Capitol city, Frankfort, lies along the Kentucky River in the Bluegrass Region. Created in 1794 from portions of Mercer, Shelby and Woodford counties, the county takes its name from Benjamin Franklin. The county covers 212 square miles and is bordered by Anderson, Henry, Owen, Scott, Shelby and Woodford counties.

The county’s rolling to steep hills historically supported more crop production than livestock. Since the settlement period, hemp, tobacco, corn, wheat, rye and barley have all been major crops. The Kentucky River, among other waterways, including the North, South, and Main Elkhorn, Big and Little Benson and Flat Creek hold pivotal roles in the county’s settlement, transportation, and industry.